A thought provoking insight.

Immigration Talk

Imagine yourself in a room where everyone is conversing but you. It’s not that you don’t want to, but you just can’t seem to communicate with others. You’re dumbfounded and shocked that everything that you have ever learned fails you at this very moment. My first classroom experience is similar to this and I’m not the only one. I began kindergarten nervous, flustered and anxious, as it would be the first time I communicated with anyone in English. With Spanish as my native tongue, I was frustrated when I interacted with my classmates. I was repeatedly taunted and even told by my kindergarten teacher that I would never amount to anything.

Interestingly, I am not a first generation immigrant nor a 1.5 immigrant but a second generation immigrant, illustrating a wider spectrum of non native speakers in our nation’s schools. Additionally, this also demonstrates a departure from the traditional notion…

View original post 256 more words

Leave a Reply

