Why using games are good for developing linguistic literacy?

 

Developing resources for children means working towards their attention span and ability levels this often means creating resources that are one hit visually appealing with the information required. For example if I were to want to learn the numbers 1-10 in Welsh the simplest way would be to practice counting, but this often gives you  a  linear view of numbers. This means that as a learner I know that 5 comes before 6 so 6 must follow 5, but if you threw the number 8 at me if I hadn’t gone from 7 then I could end up stumped.

 

If we were to develop this further into a game of snap and I played against a welsh speaker as the numbers went down they would say what was on the card, I would hear this and I would know what it sounded like, consequently, I would learn very quickly what the number represented or I would lose my cards. This is an non- linear method of teaching number progression its fast, efficient and fun, and the majority of learners don’t even know they have done it. This works with numbers really well but if I wanted to learn animals then perhaps a game of pairs would be better.  The secret of the learning part of the game is to make sure that both parties verbalise what they are seeing. The same cards could then be used to develop a game with  flash cards or clock solitaire.

Within the resource library is a series of cards that cover the basic words needed to have a good understanding of curriculum areas such as maths  and science and can be used in 100 different ways.

The cards and activities are good all round learning and assessment tools as well as having the added ability of  being sent home for parents to play as well as being ideal games for wet playtimes.

See our Facebook page for todays free resource of  animals that live in ponds.  I especially chose Malay as un-translated the one words says IKAN EMAS and supporting learners is what we all Kan do. Which animal is it?  Clue we all know that EMAS means gold as we always talk about the Golden Welcome as we want to give everyone a golden welcome.

https://www.facebook.com/EMASUK?ref=hl

 

Leave a Reply

